The Institute has three hostels named after the famous Buddhist scholars with a capacity of 100...

Ladakh is known for Buddhist monasteries and living Buddhist culture. Earlier prior to 1959,...


Job annoucement

Looking for a eligible candidate for the two post of professor in literature and Sowa-Rigpa(Tibetan Medical Science), One post of Reader in Buddhist Philosophy in Sanskrit Medium, Two post of Lecturer in Buddhist Philosophy (Sanskrit Medium) and Buddhist Philosophy in Nyingma Sampradya,One post of TGT in Bhot Grammar & Literature and 7 post for research fellow for pursuing Ph.D The detail of the announcement and form are here to download. Advertisement   Forms

Auditorium & Debate Hall


An ultra modern Auditorium with the seating capacity of 700 audiences has been constructed in the Institute to carry out the various activities of the Institute. This auditorium, named after the famous Buddhist scholar Nagarjuna, was inaugurated on October 8, 2013 by H.H. Digung Skyabgon Chechang Rinpoche, in a grand ceremony organized on the occasion. One the auspicious occasion, H.H. Digung Skyabgon also donated to the Institute one set of Kangyur (108 volumes) written with golden ink to a approximate value of Rs. 70 lakhs published in Taiwan.

Musuem & Guest House

Guest House

The Institute has a modern Guest House with 2 suites, 8 full furnished rooms, lounge and kitchen for the guests and researchers visiting the Institute.


The Institute has built up a small archaeological Museum with a collection of antiquities and objects-de-art which among other things include sculpture and painting articles of Ladakh, antique photographs and replicas brought from many historical places of India. This is a unique Museum of its kind in Ladakh which draws attention of tourists as well as the research scholars every year.





Central Institute of Buddhist Studies
Choglamsar, Leh-Ladakh

Jammu & Kashmir, 194104



Give us a call at01982-264391

Email us at



Subscribe and get the latest updates, news, and more...